EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. During these formative years it is crucial for children to be nurtured, stimulated and challenged.

eyfs_learning1Our EYFS team provide a safe environment where each child’s development is encouraged by exploration, free and structured play, and failure-free risk taking. They support children in the formation of positive relationships with their peers and with staff, and provide stimulating resources that reflect children’s cultures and communities.

We build positive relationships with parents and carers, which enables them to contribute to their children’s learning in meaningful ways.

The National Early Years Curriculum is divided into 7 areas of learning:


  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The EYFS also prepares the children for Year One by introducing key aspects of primary school education. These include daily phonics, writing, Reciprocal Reading and mathematics sessions.

eyfs_learning3 eyfs_learning4